top of page
  • Writer's picturelpsabooks

Why Do I Write Books? Part 2

Perhaps starting from the beginning might have been more appropriate, but since this blog was requested by the Cozy Crime Collective Facebook Page, I decided to make Part 1 about behind the scenes of the Stella Kirk Mysteries. If you're curious about the six books I wrote as I warmed up to cozies, here's a wee glimpse.


My first book was not even fiction. It's called Emily's Will Be Done and is characterized as creative non-fiction. What this means to me is that every syllable is true, but I changed the names of places and people to protect the privacy of the many involved. The tale revolves around my friend, Emily, who died both suddenly and inconveniently, leaving me with a complicated, and might I add messy, estate to execute. People kept suggesting a book about estate planning might rise from the ashes of such an experience...well, this book isn't about estate planning in the strictest sense, but it became a book about my quirky friend, her exceedingly odd life, and the quagmire of banks, mortgages, realtors, neighbours, lost love, grief, and endless packing and selling that went into winding down her estate. It's not a huge book, but it holds a myriad of information for those who haven't given leaving this world much thought.




After I launched my first book, I was encouraged to write a second, so I tackled a novel: Ties That Bind. This is what is commonly referred to as a coming of age story and is based on the theme of upbringing - how those things you learn as a child come back to haunt you or help you in adult life. It was well-received, but as a new author, I was disappointed my editor didn't emphasize the need to run any potential titles through a big database like Amazon.com to see if the title has been used by another author or maybe in another, less than savory, context. Lesson learned.




Let me tell you about the Regarding Hayworth series. I like series and I like books written from multiple points of view, as long as each chapter is assigned to a specific character. Any book becomes confusing to me if protagonists change at random and the reader isn't sure who is talking or thinking. I was inspired by a book called The Help. There are four books in the Regarding Hayworth series: Station Secrets, Hexagon Dilemma, Segue House Connection, and Diner Revelations. Hayworth is a fictitious town in northern Alberta, populated by a cast of characters who have originated from all over Canada. A murder takes place in the second book and is resolved in the fourth.

As for me, I was a mental health social worker in the north and also owned and operated a construction business with my husband. Writing is about a bubbly soup of intertwined experiences.


So this is my work. If you happen to get to know my characters, the question about why I write is answered in the struggles, successes, and dreams of the people I've created.


You can find my books in both eBook and paperback formats across all platforms and upon order from your favourite bookstore.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page